Event news

Déjà Vu: Jordan Taylor Holds Off Chip Ganassi Racing To Win Second Straight
Lally, Potter Pick Up First GT Win Of Season, Take Points Lead; Tremblay, Long Win In GX

Jordan Taylor and Wayne Taylor Racing once again held off three-time defending Rolex Series champions Chip Ganassi Racing to win Sunday at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca. With the victory, Taylor and co-driver Max Angelelli carry an eight-point lead (304-296) over the Ganassi duo of Scott Pruett and Memo Rojas heading into the season finale at Lime Rock Park.

Taylor – who held off a charge from Pruett to win at Kansas one race ago – dominated for much of the event before holding off Pruett and former Indianapolis 500 winner and IndyCar champion Scott Dixon over two restarts in the final 18 minutes.

Andy Lally and John Potter picked the right time to score their first win of the season in GT, driving the No. 44 Magnus Racing Porsche GT3 Cup to the points lead. Lally and Potter trailed Scuderia Corsa driver Alessandro Balzan by one point entering the event, but will take an eight-point lead (313-305) over the Italian driver who finished fifth into Lime Rock.

In GX, Sylvain Tremblay and Tom Long picked up their third win of the season in the No. 70 Mazdaspeed/Speedsource Mazda 6. Spencer Pumpelly and Jim Norman finished second, giving Norman an 11-point lead (361-350) over Joel Miller, who finished fourth.

Courtesy of GRANDAM.com