Event news

Grids are Set for Sunday’s Superbike World Championship Races
Day 2 Recap

Photo by T.M. Hill

Britain’s Chaz Davies continued his hot ways by grabbing pole position for Round 9 of the Superbike World Championship at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca. Fans descended on the circuit to witness not only Davies’ first pole position in World Superbike, but also see the first-ever MotoAmerica champion crowned in Yamaha’s Joe Roberts.

Gates open at 7 a.m. for the full day of racing, paddock shows, stunt shows, autograph sessions and more for fans to experience the full power of world championship motorcycle racing. For ticket information, click HERE.

Superbike World Championship
The ninth pole position of the 2015 eni FIM World Superbike Championship season has gone to Chaz Davies (No. 7 Aruba.it Racing – Ducati SBK Team) after two enthralling 15-minute Tissot-Superpole sessions. His lap of 1:22.101 minutes, the fastest of the weekend, kept him 0.196-of-a-second ahead of the rest of the field, the British rider notching up his maiden WorldSBK pole position and his first since 2011 when he raced World Supersport.

Joining Davies on the front row for tomorrow’s 25-lap races – the GEICO U.S. round of the WorldSBK series – will be his teammate Davide Giugliano (No. 34 Aruba.it Racing – Ducati SBK Team) and Jodi Torres, who secured his first WorldSBK front row start on the No. 81 Aprilia Racing Team – Red Devils entry. Row 2 will see Tom Sykes (No. 66 Kawasaki Racing Team) line up alongside teammate and championship leader Jonathan Rea (No. 65 Kawasaki Racing Team) and Leon Haslam (No. 91 Aprilia Racing Team – Red Devils) with Niccolo Canepa (No. 59 Althea Racing Ducati), Alex Lowes (No. 22 Voltcom Crescent Suzuki) and Sylvain Guintoli (No. 1 Pata Honda World Superbike Team) making up the third row.

Sunday’s two 25-lap races are scheduled to take the green flag at 11:30 a.m. and 2:30 p.m.

MotoAmerica Superbike/Superstock 1000
Monster Energy/Graves Motorsports Yamaha teammates Josh Hayes and Cameron Beaubier continued to lead the MotoAmerica Superbike field as they’ve done throughout the weekend by taking the top spots in qualifying for tomorrow’s Superbike/Superstock 1000 Race 1. Hayes (No. 1 Yamaha) posted a best lap of 1:24.538 minutes for the top spot with Beaubier (No. 6 Yamaha) a mere 0.150-of-a-second behind. Roger Hayden put the No. 95 Yoshimura Suzuki on the front row, as well, with a lap of 1:24.776.

Row 2 will have Jake Lewis (No. 85 Suzuki) in fourth, with SuperStock 1000 competitors Jake Gagne (No. 32 Yamaha) and Sheridan Morais (No 86 Aprilia) in fifth and sixth, respectively. Chris Fillmore (No. 11 KTM), Daniel Rivas (No. 55 BMW) and Danny Esick (No. 69 Honda) will make up the third row.

MotoAmerica Superbike/Superstock 1000 Race 1 (23 laps) is scheduled for 9:50 a.m. and Race 2 (21 laps) at 4:45 p.m.

MotoAmerica Supersport
The 23-lap MotoAmerica Supersport race is scheduled for 3:40 p.m.

MotoAmerica Superstock 600
Joe Roberts put the No. 27 Yamaha on pole Friday for today’s MotoAmerica Supersport 600 race and became the first class champion to be crowned in MotoAmerica’s inaugural season when he earned the victory in today’s Superstock 600 race at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca. It was the ninth win this season for Roberts, who came into today’s race needing just a few points to clinch the championship despite two events remaining. Bryce Prince (No. 74 Yamaha) finished second, just 0.219-of-a-second back and Michael Gilbert (No. 551 Yamaha) was third. Richie Escalante (No. 54 Triumph), who qualified second and was second in the point standings, crashed out in the 12th minute of the race and was not classified at the finish.

MotoAmerica KTM RC Cup
Braeden Ortt (No. 551) qualified fourth, lined up for the race in row two behind pole sitter Xavier Zayat, and went on to earn his second victory of the MotoAmerica KTM RC Cup season while point leader Gage MCallister (No. 25), who had qualified second, had his day end with a DNF on the race’s second lap. Ortt beat Anthony Mazziotto III to the checkered flag by 0.747-of-a-second while Zayat crossed the line third.