2010 Race Recap and Results

As the final day of racing action concluded at the Rolex Monterey Motorsports Reunion, entrants representing 13 countries and competing in more than 600 historic cars gathered to celebrate their accomplishments at the Rolex Awards Ceremony at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca. Sunday afternoon’s awards ceremony was hosted by Mike Joy from SPEED and Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca’s CEO/General Manager, Gill Campbell.

“I have never in my entire career had so many people tell me how much they enjoyed an event,” said Campbell. “The bar has been raised considerably because of the incredible effort made by participants, our sponsors, volunteers, HMSA, the volunteer Board of Directors and staff here at Mazda Raceway.”

To celebrate the new dawn of the Rolex Monterey Motorsports Reunion, innovative awards were established to reflect the fresh, new direction. Here is the complete list of awards and the winners:

Best Paddock Display – Presenter – Jay Amestoy, Mazda North American Operations
Presented to the best paddock display representative of the era
Winner: Virtuoso – Scott Drnek

Road and Track Magazine Award – Presenter – Tom Bryant, former editor in chief 
Presented to the car we would most like to race
Winner: Peter Giddings for his 1930 Alfa Romeo Tipo B “P3”  

Henry Ford Trophy – Presenter – John Clinard, Ford Motor Company
Presented to the most significant Ford-powered entry
Winner: Bruce Canepa for his 1969 Shelby Mustang Boss 302

The Brilliance Award – Presenter – Jim Holloway
Presented to the owner of the car with Exceptional History and Unquestionable Provenance.
Winner: Jonathon Feiber – for his 1960 Maserati Tipo 61 Birdcage

Ken Miles Trophy - Presenter – Cy Yedor

Presented for the representation of a vintage car under 1500cc. Winner: Thor Johnson for his 1959 Lotus 17

Classic and Sports Car Cup – Presenter – Alan Spurlin, Classic and Sports Car columnist. Presented to the driver whose car exemplifies beautiful design and performance

Winner: Charles McCabe for his 1934 Bugatti Type 59

The SPEED “Turn 12” Award – Presenter – Bobby Akin, SPEED TV
Presented as the “What were you thinking?”
Winner: Patrick Dempsey

The President’s Cup – Presenter SCRAMP President, Dean Fewtrell
Presented to the entrant whose car has historical significance to Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca.
Winner: Bill Hartman with his 1963 Shelby King Cobra

The Founders Trophy – Presenter Gill Campbell
In honor of Steve and Debbie Earle. This award is presented to the person who richly personifies historic racing.
Winner: Dr. Lou Sellyei

The Rolex Awards – Presenter – Vice President and Director of Communications of Rolex Watch USA Peter Nicholson.  Presented for excellence in each race category, as determined by a three-person panel who watched every race.


  • Rolex Race 1A – The 1958 Lotus 15 driven by Donald Orosco
  • Rolex Race 2A – The 1962 Lotus 22 driven by Jeremy Barnes
  • Rolex Race 3A – The 1958 Lister Knobbly driven by Al Arciero
  • Rolex Race 4A – The 1932 Bugatti Type 51 driven by Charles Dean
  • Rolex Race 5A – The 1969 Lola T70 Mk. 3B driven by Peter Kitchak
  • Rolex Race 6A – The 1979 Porsche 935 driven by Rusty French
  • Rolex Race 7A – The 1970 Chevrolet Camaro driven by Tomy Drissi
  • Rolex Race 8A – The 1972 Lola 290 driven by Keith Frieser
  • Rolex Race 9A – The Mazda RX-792P driven by Patrick Dempsey and Weldon Munsey
  • Rolex Race 1B – The 1934 ERA A-Type driven by Paddins Dowling
  • Rolex Race 2B – The Frasier Nash Le Mans driven by Herb Wetanson
  • Rolex Race 3B – The 1954 Jaguar XK-120 driven by Michael Silverman
  • Rolex Race 4B – The 1961 Aston Martin Zagato DB-4 driven by Herb Wetanson
  • Rolex Race 5B – The 1965 Lotus 26R driven by Michael Avila
  • Rolex Race 6B – The 1973 Chevrolet Chevelle driven by Curt Kallberg
  • Rolex Race 7B – The 1965 Sunbeam Tiger driven by Tom Sakai
  • Rolex Race 7L – The 1970 Datsun 510 driven by Steve Link
  • Rolex Race 8B – The Lola T70 driven by Nick Colona
  • Rolex Race 9B – The 1983 Williams FW08C driven by Michael Fitzgerald

Spirit of Monterey Trophy – Presenter – Rolex Watch USA’s Peter Nicholson and Bill Patterson, Official Artist of Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca. Presented to the driver who excels in the spirit of the weekend in excellence.

Winner: Graham Wallis from Group 1B in his 1929 Lagonda for overall excellence in the Pre-1949 Sports and Racing Cars group.

A one-hour Speed TV special on the 2010 Rolex Monterey Motorsports Reunion is scheduled for Friday, Sept. 17, at 8 p.m. EST. The show will re-air on Saturday, Sept. 18 at 1 a.m., Friday, Sept. 24 at 1 p.m. and Sunday, Oct. 17 at 5 p.m. (Check local listings for changes.)

During the Rolex Awards Ceremony, the dates for the 2011 Rolex Monterey Motorsports Reunion were announced: August 19-21.