Patron Highcroft’s Back-to-Back Titles Applauded by Connecticut Governor and Industry Leaders
American Le Mans Series

Patrón Highcroft Racing’s remarkable back-to-back championship success in the American Le Mans Series has drawn praise from the Governor of Connecticut, M. Jodi Rell, key industry leaders, media experts, team partners and motorsport legends. Victory in the LMP2 class by David Brabham, Simon Pagenaud and Marino Franchitti clinched the LMP title for Highcroft at Saturday’s Petit Le Mans race at Road Atlanta.

While the team needed only to finish 70 per cent of the race to claim the crown, the Danbury, CT-based squad charged to the title in the best possible way – claiming the lead after 19 minutes and charging to a perfect victory, winning the class by 11 laps.

While many of the leading US-based motorsports teams are headquartered in Indianapolis, IN or Charlotte, NC – Connecticut’s favorite race team continue to steal international headlines.
The victory was the second Petit Le Mans crown for David Brabham who won the race overall in 1999.  Marino Franchitti also took his second Petit Le Mans LMP2 victory in succession.

At Sunday night’s American Le Mans Series Night of Champions banquet, Brabham collected his second successive driver’s crown.  Brabham and Scott Sharp scored the LMP1 championship in 2009.

His new 2010 partner Pagenaud scored his first driver’s championship in the ALMS – adding to his Champ Car Atlantic crown the Frenchman earned in his first year in America in 2006.

Duncan Dayton’s Highcroft squad scored the Team’s championship for the second year in succession and also collected the prize for the MICHELIN® GREEN X® Challenge environmental award for prototypes.

Team COO Brian MacDonald collected the trophy for the revolutionary GREEN X® competition which grades manufacturers and teams on their overall performance and energy efficiency at each event.

Team partner Honda Performance Development also collected its share of silverware at the banquet at Chateau Elan – a few miles south of the Road Atlanta circuit.

HPD Assistant Vice President Steve Eriksen collected the Manufacturers trophies for the top engine and chassis manufacturer in the LMP class as well as the manufacturer’s GREEN Challenge award.

Team technical director Dave Luckett was presented with the IMSA Cup Trophy on behalf of the team for the best independent entrant.

The team’s partner Michelin also collected the LMP Tire Manufacturer’s crown – amazingly for the 12th consecutive season.
Patrón Highcroft Racing’s amazing season is made all the more remarkable considering the faster LMP1 machines and cars from Highcroft’s LMP2 class were combined into a single class for seven of the nine races this season.

The team’s achievements included:

· Four victories – bringing the team’s total to 11 wins in the past three seasons (averaging out to victory every three races)

· Highcroft presented the only car in any class in the entire ALMS championship to finish on the podium in every race this season.

· The team’s tally of 182 points was the most scored in a season in the history of Highcroft Racing.  This year’s total outscored last year’s championship winning total despite the fact the series featured one less race in 2010.

· All three of the team’s drivers scored a pole position in 2010 – Marino Franchitti at Sebring, Simon Pagenaud at Salt Lake City and David Brabham at Lime Rock Park.

· 2010 was the most competitive season in the history of the American Le Mans Series with five different teams and manufacturers winning races overall.

· 100% finishing reliability.  Highcroft completed 99.7 per cent of the possible laps. A small electrical issue at Sebring caused the only occasion where Highcroft didn’t finish on the lead lap