Race Groups Announced for the 2011 Rolex Monterey Motorsports Reunion
Participant Entry Request Forms Now Available

Historic Formula 1 cars accelerate out of Turn 11 at 2010 Rolex Monterey Motorsports Reunion.

A diverse list of race groups for the Rolex Monterey Motorsports Reunion have been determined and entry request forms are now available online at www.MazdaRaceway.com. The Rolex Monterey Motorsports Reunion is a cornerstone of the Monterey Classic Car Week held August 19-21, 2011 at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca.

“We are keeping the event fresh with new race groups such as Can-Am,” said Gill Campbell, CEO/general manager for Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca. “It was a free-wheeling era in motorsports when all the rules were pushed to the extreme.”

Race Groups
Pre 1940 Sports Racing and Touring Cars
1929 – 1940 Racing Cars
1955 – 1961 Sports Racing Cars under 2000cc
1955 – 1961 Sports Racing Cars over 2000cc
1947 – 1955 Sports Racing and GT Cars
1955 – 1962 GT Cars
1961 – 1966 GT Cars under 2500cc
1963 – 1966 GT Cars over 2500cc
1959 – 1963 Formula Junior Cars
1960 – 1968 Sports Racing USRRC Cars
1964 – 1969 FIA Mfg. Championship Cars
1966 – 1972 Trans Am

1970 – 1976 FIA Mfg. Championship Cars
1973 – 1982 IMSA GT, GTX AAGT Cars
1981 – 1989 FIA Mfg. Championship & IMSA GTP
1966 – 1983 Formula 1
1969 – 1974 Can-Am

The Can-Am series was known for being on the cutting-edge of racing with minimal regulations, permitting unlimited engine sizes with virtually unrestricted aerodynamics. The Lolas, McLarens and the dominating 917 Porsches were at times, faster than the F1 cars of that era. Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca hosted the series from 1966 – 1973 and the Chaparrals (won in 1966) and McLarens (four wins) that dominated the races at the track will once again thunder down the Corkscrew.

The FIA 3-Liter Formula 1 cars from 1966 – 1983 featured race include cars such as Mario Andretti’s Lotus 79, which helped him win the 1978 world championship. Also in this group is the Tyrrell 006 that Jackie Stewart won his third and last world championship in along with the Lotus 49B driven by Jimmy Clark and Graham Hill. The 49B was the first successful Formula 1 car to feature the engine as a structural member.

The deadline for the participant Entry Form submissions is January 31, 2011 to afford the governing committee ample time to review and select the period-correct historic cars. Each entry request is subject to intense scrutinizing to ensure the car is authentic, has proven provenance and has not been mechanically altered from its original race condition.

General admission tickets, parking and general camping are on sale by calling 800-327-7322 or online at www.MazdaRaceway.com.