Red Bull U.S. Grand Prix Daily Update – July 22, 2012

Who Will We See Atop the Podium?

One week from today there will be a winner celebrating atop the Red Bull U.S. Grand Prix podium at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca. The question is who?

There are five MotoGP™ competitors who have won here before: Nicky Hayden (2005, 2006); Casey Stoner (2011, 2007); Jorge Lorenzo (2010); Dani Pedrosa (2009) and Valentino Rossi (2008). Lorenzo, Pedrosa and Stoner are battling it out for the World Championship and are one, two and three respectively in the point standings. Seven-time World Champion Rossi is an eternal favorite that fans would like to see return to glory and his teammate Hayden will have the steadfast support of his home country on his side.

Perhaps we will see a new winner. Andrea Dovizioso has been on a hot streak, placing third in the last three races. His teammate Cal Crutchlow has had a strong second year in MotoGP™ thus far with six top five finishes. Or perhaps American Ben Spies will surge to the front of the pack; he placed fourth last year.

No matter who hoists the trophy and sprays the champagne next Sunday July 29, the crowds in attendance for the Red Bull U.S. Grand Prix are in for some competitive racing as many of these riders have something to prove and all want to win.    

Be sure to check in and stay tuned as the MotoGP™ buzz continues to build on the Monterey Peninsula.

Follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram for the latest photos, details and contests from Mazda Raceway.