INDYCAR Announces ‘Robust’ TV Schedule with Exclusive Partner NBC Sports Group
WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca to bookend INDYCAR season with February 8 test, September 20-22 season finale


INDYCAR’s expanded presence on network television in 2019 through its new partnership with NBC Sports Group will not only include the 103rd Running of the Indianapolis 500, along with other action at Indianapolis Motor Speedway in May, but also the IndyCar Series’ new season finale at WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca.

Eight of this year’s 17 IndyCar Series races will air on NBC, including the INDYCAR Grand Prix of Monterey on Sunday, September 22. All INDYCAR on-track action will be available through NBC Sports, with nearly 350 hours available between linear television and digital streaming coverage. NBC Sports Gold, NBC Sports’ direct-to-consumer streaming product, will offer a package – INDYCAR Pass – that will feature live IndyCar Series practice and qualifying sessions, same-day race airings and Indy Lights presented by Cooper Tires events.

“This will be the most complete and robust season of INDYCAR viewing for our fans,” said Mark Miles, president and CEO of Hulman & Company, which owns INDYCAR and Indianapolis Motor Speedway. “Fans can not only see everything that happens on the track, they can see races at their convenience via INDYCAR Pass on the same day, which until now had not been available.”

“As the exclusive home for INDYCAR, NBC Sports will provide fans with more INDYCAR coverage than ever before in 2019,” said Jon Miller, president of programming for NBC Sports and NBCSN. “From centralized, seamless coverage on NBC and NBCSN to unparalleled support surrounding the 103rd Indianapolis 500, one of the most prestigious events in all of sports, NBC Sports will super-serve INDYCAR Nation through its best-in-class television, digital, production and marketing assets.”  

Indy cars return to WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca after a 15-year absence. The action starts and ends in Monterey with INDYCAR Spring Testing taking place on Friday, February 8, and the season-ending Firestone Grand Prix of Monterey scheduled on September 20-22.

INDYCAR Spring Testing will reacquaint teams to the 11-turn, 2.238-mile road course that hosted Indy car racing from 1983 to 2004 with memorable moments that including Alex Zanardi executing “The Pass” on Bryan Herta on the final lap of the 1996 finale, Mario Andretti’s emotional retirement in 1994 and Bobby Rahal winning four consecutive events from 1984 to 1987.

A total of 23 cars are currently expected to take part in INDYCAR Spring Testing with drivers from Team Penske, Andretti Autosport, Chip Ganassi Racing, Ed Carpenter Racing, Schmidt Peterson Motorsports, Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing, A.J. Foyt Enterprises, Carlin Motorsport, Dale Coyne Racing, Juncos Racing and Michael Shank Racing. The day full of on-track action will begin at 8:30 a.m.

The public is able to attend INDYCAR Spring Testing for $20 at the admissions checkpoint or $10 if they have purchased tickets for the INDYCAR Grand Prix of Monterey. Admission is free for WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca Season Ticket holders and children 15 years old and under. “Monterey Speed Week” combination packages for IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship on September 13-15 and Firestone Grand Prix of Monterey on September 20-22. Tickets for both events can be purchased by visiting or by calling 831-242-8200.

Following is the complete 2019 IndyCar Series television race schedule with air times (all Eastern). Times are subject to change.

Date: Race/Track, Network, Time (ET)

Sunday, March 10: Streets of St. Petersburg, NBCSN, 1 p.m.
Sunday, March 24: Circuit of the Americas, NBCSN, 1 p.m.
Sunday, April 7: Barber Motorsports Park, NBCSN, 4 p.m.
Sunday, April 14: Streets of Long Beach, NBCSN, 4 p.m.
Saturday, May 11: Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course, NBC, 3 p.m.
Sunday, May 26: Indianapolis 500, NBC, 11 a.m.
Saturday, June 1: Raceway at Belle Isle Park/Detroit, NBC, 3 p.m.
Sunday, June 2: Raceway at Belle Isle Park/Detroit, NBC, 3 p.m.
Saturday, June 8: Texas Motor Speedway, NBCSN, 8 p.m.
Sunday, June 23: Road America, NBC, noon
Sunday, July 14: Streets of Toronto, NBCSN, 3 p.m.
Saturday, July 20: Iowa Speedway, NBCSN, 7 p.m.
Sunday, July 28: Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course, NBC, 3 p.m.
Sunday, August 18: Pocono Raceway, NBCSN, 2 p.m.
Saturday, August 24: Gateway Motorsports Park, NBCSN, 8 p.m.
Sunday, September 1: Portland International Raceway, NBC, 3 p.m.
Sunday, September 22: WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca, NBC, 2:30 p.m.