Winners Crowned at Thrilling Rolex 24 at Daytona


The 2019 Rolex 24 at Daytona will be remembered as one of the most wild, thrilling races in the history of the illustrious event. Teams battled around the clock with rain affecting the later hours of the event and torrential downpour ultimately concluding it under a red flag.

Two-time Formula One World Champion Fernando Alonso added a new accomplishment to his incredible racing career by winning the Rolex 24 at Daytona along with No. 10 Kinoca Minolta Cadillac DPi teammates Jordan Taylor, Renger van der Zande and Kamui Kobayashi. It was the second win for Wayne Taylor Racing in the last three years.

The closing hours featured a fierce battle up front between the No. 10 and the No. 31 Whelan Engineering Racing DPi with Taylor passing Felipe Nasr in the rain to take the lead.

The No. 18 DragonSpeed team collected the LMP2 win. Sebastian Saavedra was driving at the end to secure the win for co-drivers Roberto Gonzalez, Pastor Maldonado and Ryan Cullen.

BMW took the honors in GT Le Mans (GTLM). The No. 25 RLL Racing BMW M8 GTE outlasted the grid with Augusto Farfus finishing up behind the wheel after great efforts by Connor De Phillippi, Philipp Eng and Colton Herta. The second-generation Herta will be a full-time driver in the NTT IndyCar Series.

No. 11 Lamborghini Huracan GT3 team defended its 2018 Rolex 24 at Daytona class victory in a packed GT Daytona (GTD) grid. Christian Engelhart was the last to do the driving chores following the three-of-four returning drivers from the winning 2018 team: Rolf Ineichen, Mirko Bortolotti and Rik Breukers.

The IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship moves on to the Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring on March 16. It will be broadcast on NBCSN and the NBC Sports App.

The premier sports car racing series in North America comes to WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca on September 12-15. It will be the kickoff to Monterey “Speed Week,” and combined ticket packaging is available for IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship and the following week’s INDYCAR return at the Firestone Grand Prix of Monterey.

The 50th anniversary celebration of IMSA will also be the featured marque at the Rolex Monterey Motorsports Reunion August 15-18.

Click here for tickets and information.